Poets logo

The Forest at Night

A Short Poem of Fiction and Suspense, Where Fear and Wonder Collide

By Story TellerPublished about a year ago 1 min read
Like

The moon shines bright in the dark of night,

As I wander through the forest with fright,

For I know not what lurks in the trees,

Or what kind of danger it might seize.

My heart beats fast as I hear a sound,

A rustling in the leaves on the ground,

And suddenly, before my eyes,

A creature appears, with glowing eyes.

It stands before me, tall and still,

Its presence gives me an eerie chill,

I try to run but my feet won't go,

And the creature approaches, moving slow.

But then a voice rings out in the night,

And the creature fades out of sight,

I'm left alone with a sense of awe,

Wondering what I really saw.

For in that moment, I realized,

That sometimes fear can be disguised,

And the things that scare us the most,

Might be the things we need to boast.

fact or fiction
Like

About the Creator

Story Teller

As a "Story Teller," I'm passionate about crafting compelling narratives that entertain, educate, and inspire. My stories connect people, foster empathy, and make us feel more human.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.