Poets logo

The Flooded Path

"I searched for a way across/ and hoped to find a rope/ in the shape of a hand"

By Derek EversPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
6
The Flooded Path
Photo by Jonathan Klok on Unsplash

Today I was running along my usual path.

Splashing through small pools of water

and crunching branches beneath my feet.

...

Beside my path, to the left, runs a creek.

And today, when I looked

I was surprised to see, the murky water

flowing so high and monstrously.

...

And I was unnerved to find

a part of my path

swallowed by the creek.

...

"Should I try to cross?" I wondered.

My path and the one beyond this foe

are calm and certain, but in between

is only uneasy water.

...

"If I am timid and weak

and unprepared to fall

and only sink further

will I only be

a devastated dream?"

...

I searched for a way across

and hoped to find a rope

in the shape of a hand

but it was only me

before the murky stream.

...

"If I am strong and sturdy

and there is nothing to fear

and I'm pulled away, and flow un-near

would I only be

forever grateful?"

...

But it was curiosity

(or perhaps foolishness)

that led my feet through the water

and safely to the other side.

...

Still, there was no one

to witness or praise my triumph.

So silently, I cheered for myself.

...

I looked back and saw

the dark water still flowing

and knew I would face this battle again.

But with power in my stride,

I looked forward and

continued along my path.

Thank you for reading! If you enjoyed, then please share, leave a like or a tip, or check out some of my other writing by clicking on my profile icon. Thank you for your support, I truly appreciate it!

Let me know your thoughts on Instagram/Twitter - @doitlikederk

inspirational
6

About the Creator

Derek Evers

Hello! I'm Derek, a writer based in Portland, OR. Author of short stories, poetry, and blog posts about the things that interest me. Be kind to yourself and others, always.

IG: deverswriting

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Jennifer Lorraine - Bloch McGeeabout a year ago

    I absolutely adore your description of the "battle" with the flooding. It sounds silly but it made me think of "if a tree falls in the forest does it make a sound". So, "if I make it across this area will others applaud my effort?" There is something wonderful about the solitude of the moment. I love this line: "If I am timid and weak/and unprepared to fall/and only sink further/will I only be a devasted dream?" Poetry gold in my opinion! Great job :)

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.