Poets logo

A Christmas Miracle

In my heart, you're not very far

By Derek EversPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1

This year is full of tragedy,

stuck at home, no family.

And I wish I could see,

you underneath Grandma's Christmas tree.

...

Tossing and turning in bed,

until I close my eyes and rest my head.

Then I'm taken back, like magic,

to a time less frantic,

with Grandma, and Mom, and everyone.

...

In my heart, we're around the table,

sharing stories and telling fables.

So close and so much fun;

not a person is missing, not a one.

...

Wintry blue light,

mistakes are made right,

leaving us lyrical

and hopeful a Christmas miracle,

will let you stay after tonight.

...

Bells will ring,

just like our hearts when you bring,

yourself through the door;

that's what memories are for,

once an angel takes flight.

...

In my heart, we're around the lit up tree,

unopened gifts fill us with glee.

Twinkling smiles on every face;

not a minute missed, not a thing to replace.

...

Tossing and turning in bed,

when the world feels like dread,

when I feel all alone,

like a Christmas miracle, you bring me back home.

...

For my brother Brad - I love you.

Thank you for reading.

love poems
1

About the Creator

Derek Evers

Hello! I'm Derek, a writer based in Portland, OR. Author of short stories, poetry, and blog posts about the things that interest me. Be kind to yourself and others, always.

IG: deverswriting

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.