Poets logo

The Flamingo

To My Pineapple

By Nadia IrisPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
1
Our moment in Time

It’s often said that lovely things

Will always come to you

At times when you’re not looking -

And I’ve found this to be true

I remember it like yesterday

The day I saw her face

A smile that swept me off my feet

With elegance and grace

She stepped onto the center stage

(… That’s where she should be)

Her presence rattled all of us

But it especially hit me

I watched her dance and sing in style

A flower that just was

People stood and clapped for her

(… That’s just what she does)

I couldn’t get her off my mind

She became my inspiration

Her vibe is so contagious

It creates synchronization

My breath would often leave me

As I watched her sing her song

And finally, when she came to me

I knew I’d known her all along

An explosion of two forces

When she turned to me to say

That it was I who inspired her

In whatever kind of way

We both stood still in silence

We felt more than just a “friend”

We knew at once that what we’d be

Would have no finite end

The circumstance that we were in

Meant people were confused

But we just kept True to Ourselves

So their opinions were diffused

The magic we created

Filled our hearts with Real Joy

We wanted to expand this light

Exploring our Star Boy

We travelled, ate and laughed out loud

We walked along the sea

We took pictures everywhere

In whatever company

We’d always come back to ourselves

Our space was safe to be

I let her be Who She Is

And she let Me Be Me

The stars then moved in rhythm

It was time for us to part

But we’ be creating always

With the love we share at heart

Even though this light of mine

Is miles and miles away

We share our journeys consciously

Every moment of the day

A friend that brightens up my path

With the shine of the rainbow

If I were a pineapple,

She’d be my flamingo

And every night I’m thankful

That our story did begin

I’m humbled and I’m grateful

That you exist, Caitlin

love poems
1

About the Creator

Nadia Iris

• I write from a place of sincerity •

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.