Poets logo

The first Wonder of this World

A rhyming poem for the "Extraterrestrial" challenge

By Hannah MoorePublished 8 months ago 2 min read
12
The first Wonder of this World
Photo by Todd Cravens on Unsplash

When the alien craft alighted

I did not stop to question.

I opened up my home to them,

I did not fear ingestion.

Though just one little chap emerged,

Long armed, with wide midsection,

I welcomed him with open arms,

And offered warm reception.

I was keen that he should recognise,

With my astute direction,

The best of all the things on earth,

And he gave no objection.

The bathroom was our first big stop,

I showed him my reflection,

“These eyes”, I said “Are just spot on,

Because I am perfection!

The lens inside, it has such strength,

That use for far inspection,

Requires wearing spectacles,

Some call it sight correction.”

He looked at me with one pink eye.

I took it as suggestion,

So on I went with lesson two,

“Desirable complexion”.

“My skin” I said, and moved his hand

For maximum sensation,

“Is lined to show how it can move!

Again, I am perfection!”

His skin was soft, I have to say,

And seemed, to my perception,

Quite lovely, like a rabbit’s ear,

Seems churlish not to mention.

Although his nose did not align

To humanoid convention,

“Cute” had clearly played a role

In natural selection.

My nose was large, as I announced,

With hairs in each direction,

“These nostril hairs” I told with pride,

“Help me ward off infection”.

We moved next to view my chin,

Whose natural inclination

To disappear into my neck

Assists in introspection.

Then I stripped bare and showed to him

My muscles in contraction.

“These bumps are signs of peace”, I said,

“And gentle interaction!

These loose skinned hands I show you now,

Are tools of great connection,

You’ll see they’re worn, from all the use,

Because I am perfection.”

I showed him how my nipples neared

My navel’s proud distention,

“A sign”, I said, “of wisdom’s growth,

And thoughtful inclination.”

Then at my flaccid arms we looked,

“These let me show affection,

By holding you with these I say,

‘You too are just perfection!’”

The tour was closed, and he returned

To his airborne invention.

I marvelled as I watched him go

At my advanced detection.

For I could see the alien race

Was, based on my inspection,

Quite perfect in most every way,

Beyond my expectation!

Then just when I had made a snack,

There came in my direction,

Six more beings from the craft,

A hideous collection!

Some tall, some thin, rough skin, five eyes,

Without an invitation,

They came into my living room,

Began a genuflection!

And I forgave my little friend

His act of misdirection,

And we agreed, from that day on,

We all can be perfection.

inspirational
12

About the Creator

Hannah Moore

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (9)

Sign in to comment
  • Test8 months ago

    amazing! 💗💝

  • Oooo, this was sooooo amazing! I loved the ending so much!

  • Andrew C McDonald8 months ago

    Sweet poem. Wouldn’t have thought of the bathroom first. ROFL.

  • JBaz8 months ago

    Such deep thought and lesson in life. I love how you mixed humour and insight, it was….perfection. Congratulations

  • Dana Crandell8 months ago

    I doff my hat. Well done!

  • Lamar Wiggins8 months ago

    Quite the tale! I loved the repetition of sound in the rhyme scheme, not as easy to pull off as one would think. Well done!

  • This was so unusual and such an interesting read! I really loved the part where you took him to the mirror and the lines around the eyes… this was very beautiful ☺️ 🤍🕊️✨

  • Kendall Defoe 8 months ago

    You win! 🏆

  • Paul Stewart8 months ago

    Wow...standing ovation for this one, Hannah! Love the thoughts behind it and your wonderful wordplay. Great great great entry!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.