Poets logo

Content warning

This story may contain sensitive material or discuss topics that some readers may find distressing. Reader discretion is advised. The views and opinions expressed in this story are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of Vocal.

the final page

another tragedy

By Poppy Published 3 days ago 1 min read
Image Created on Midjourney

You’re a knife made for drawing blood.

And you’re the kind of metal that gets forged into armour.

But you have a softness like rain-soaked soil when it is only me running my hands through your words.

All the bullets threaten to make you bleed but you just smile as if that alone can save you.

Apocalypses follow us everywhere but there’s no reason to flinch when your silhouette is beside mine.

My demons are at our doorstep and your warmth is the only thing keeping them at bay.

It’s all just laughter and hardening skin until I am pushed to my breaking point.

They sought your blood like they once yearned for your safety, but I am still here, still forged around you like armour.

Every story has a goodbye eventually. Every book has a final page. This is ours.

I begged you to stay but now the shadows are creeping closer and I’m beginning to realise, I am a knife, crafted for one purpose and one purpose only.

I only know my return is too late when the ground starts falling from beneath my feet.

I’m sorry I couldn’t hold on longer.

I scour the galaxy for the softness you hid beneath your ribcage, but all that is left of you is cold ice and sharp edges.

You took your warmth with you when you left. I couldn’t fend them off on my own.

Come back to me. Dance with me in the sunlight. Hold me under the starlight. Leave these shadows behind.

You were too late.

Please.

...

I’m so sorry.

heartbreak

About the Creator

Poppy

‘Wasted Love' available to purchase here in paperback and eBook format.

Find me on:

Instagram. Facebook. Tiktok. Pinterest. Twitter. Medium. Patreon.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (5)

  • Kayleigh Fraser ✨3 days ago

    This triggered some deep grief I wasn’t expecting! Beautifully penned and unfolded 🥹❤️🙏🏻🌟

  • D.K. Shepard3 days ago

    Oh this is beautifully written but incredibly sad! Devastating!

  • Too sad… ‘Every story has a goodbye eventually. Every book has a final page. This is ours.’🥺

  • Hannah Moore3 days ago

    Oh lord, that please...

  • This reminded me both of "The Story of Us" and "Forgive Me Peter" by Taylor Swift. Loved your poem so much!

Poppy  Written by Poppy

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.