Poets logo

THE FIFTH WHEEL

OF THE RAINBOW

By Antonia WebberPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1

Born in the ghetto, but the ghetto not born in me.

Number 7 of 8 , Catholic school babies

Easily recognizable, we all had the same face

Couldn't get away with anything, because to my parents they would race

Fridays started the 3 days of hell we would endure

Drank from start to finish, I couldn't take much more

It wasn't for me I feared

It was for my DEAR

She did everything for us, rode the train and the bus

To bring home a little joy, every 2 weeks

Chinese, Italian foods made me weak

Unconditional love is what she always gave

to all 8, whether or not you behaved

It hurt my feelings so, to see her clothes in a heap

on the floor

Pride aside ,she sewed them whole along the seam

And wore them like new, or so it seemed

His intentions were good, for stress took a toll

war, family and responsibility until he was old

Am I blue? Yes like the 5th color of the rainbow

Does it define me? Maybe so

Because of these times I have endured

I wanted a life, I wanted more

Did what I was supposed to do

School, church and in by dark

But I wanted upon this earth to leave a mark

Maybe a Jack of all trades, master of nothing

but I will do whatever it takes to make me sing

Like the colors of the rainbow

I am all these colors red, orange yellow,

green, blue, purple, indigo

Whatever it takes to make this life a go

I have evolved through many paths

And solved Who am I?

I am me, a creative soul ,who will do many things

to summarize the whole.

So when I leave this life, I hope my daughter will be,

proud to have known Me.

I am blue.....

What color are you?

art
1

About the Creator

Antonia Webber

Please cancel my subscription STAT!!!Please send me an email to confirm the cancellation. [email protected]

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.