Poets logo

The Fictional Love

A Poem

By Angel AdagioPublished 14 days ago Updated 14 days ago 1 min read
4
The Fictional Love
Photo by Nathan Dumlao on Unsplash

I have read so many romance novels to live parts of my life within them.

Each have brought so much joy,

but remind me that those versions of love are fictional and I need to settle for the reality of the bare minimum.

But how can I when I invade his dreams and he would rather remain asleep so that he may find me there,

or being so all-consuming in his mind that his heart starts to burn for me,

a torture he does not want to give up.

I want that kind of love. The one where I know it's real and my feelings can finally match someone else's.

I will not settle for the constant wanting for my body,

or the obsession to want to be liked too,

or the disappointment when I can't be their first choice.

I want to be wanted for me,

all of me.

But I guess that can only happen in a novel.

love poems
4

About the Creator

Angel Adagio

Thank you for taking the time to read some of my work. Your support is much appreciated. It may not be perfect, but it's real. I hope you'll stay a while.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.