Poets logo

The Fan

The loves of a sports fan

By Kendall Defoe Published 3 years ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read
2
The Fan
Photo by Nicholas Green on Unsplash

This was an experiment with the villanelle form of poetry (I wonder if people get the point):

“Just let me finish with the game, honey.”

My wife just sat there, staring into space.

“Last time I checked, the score was 3 to 3,

And could you pass me my beer if you see

it by the lamp…with the bulb I will replace…

Just let me finish with the game, honey.

“That last goal was disallowed, but tell me

why he’s still on?” (She had started to pace.)

“Last time I checked the score was 3 to 3.

And I didn’t see the damn referee

until they passed to…what’s-his-face…

Just let me finish with the game, honey.”

I guess she must have heard. I knew that she

had to go out tonight (no time to waste)…

“Last time I checked, the score was…3 to 3.”

(Very stupid words to repeat, believe

me.) She left with her purse (and suitcase?)

“Just let me finish with the game, honey…

Last time I checked, the score was 3 to 3.”

*

Thank you for reading!

If you liked this, you can add your Insights, Comment, leave a Heart, Tip, Pledge, or Subscribe. I will appreciate any support you have shown for my work.

You can find more poems, stories, and articles by Kendall Defoe on my Vocal profile. I complain, argue, provoke and create...just like everybody else.

Give it a look...

social commentary
2

About the Creator

Kendall Defoe

Teacher, reader, writer, dreamer... I am a college instructor who cannot stop letting his thoughts end up on the page.

And I did this: Buy Me A Coffee... And I did this:

Blogger

Squawk Back

Quora

Reedsy

Instagram

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Brin J.5 months ago

    So this is what villanelle looks like. 🧐 rhyme every other line? I think I get it. He gives her no attention, only his game, and she leaves? lol

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.