Poets logo

The Errand

Maybe we're the checkmark at the bottom of someone's to-do list.

By Silver Serpent BooksPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
3
The Errand
Photo by Monica Valls on Unsplash

I wonder and worry about the rays of light

Trickling into my mind that have triggered a blight

Among my crops and displaced the ocean of dreams

Swirling around feral thoughts and pretty wishes

Unfettered by the chains tossed at me

Like prize money, the flowers after a show.

******************************

It becomes harder to ignore.

*******************************

Those thoughts, trains long since having left the station,

Sloshed overboard and dripped from my eyes,

Plopped angrily against cracked asphalt

And shimmered beneath a flickering neon sign

That watched and judged and made sure every little girl

Played by the rules.

*******************************

It’s impossible to ignore.

*******************************

What am I to the dancers twirling in my mind?

Who am I to the executioner, the king above him?

A shadow. A thought of a thought.

An errand.

*******************************

I cannot be ignored.

How have I been ignored?

I am an errand.

A shakey checkmark splashed on a bloody page.

Little more than a fleeting ask, fulfilled.

********************************

Remember, you can subscribe now so you stay up to date with all my posts and stories. As always, every heart is appreciated. You can follow me on @silver.serpent.books on Instagram, ko-fi, and buy me a coffee. You can also go to silverserpentbooks.com for some fun stuff too!

sad poetry
3

About the Creator

Silver Serpent Books

Writer. Interested in all the rocks people have forgotten to turn over. There are whole worlds under there, you know. Dark ones too, even better.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.