Poets logo

In The Silence

The lonely tree has stories to tell but none will listen.

By Silver Serpent BooksPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
3
In The Silence
Photo by Aditya Chinchure on Unsplash

The empty hallways of a mind abused

By the elixir of promised hope

Have decayed, given way to barren planes of existence

Where demons and deities fear to tread.

The overwhelming silence of failed

Thoughts and dreams and worlds

Suffocate the fragile lungs of immortal creatures.

**********************************************

I’m talking to a crowded room

Full of monsters without ears to hear me,

Eyes to take in the dreams

Sprawled out like nebulas in these blue oceans.

Silence. Silence. Silence.

The abhorrent quiet of a room filled to bursting

With people who never wanted to hear me

In the first place.

**********************************************

The quiet haunts me, rolls through

And tears the wood from the house I created,

Sculpted with shaking fingers and cramped hands.

It eats up the food in my pantry

Like the pervasive moths in the houses of the cursed.

A side character in my own life sitting gingerly

In the stands listening to the world quietly breathing.

**********************************************

Talk about me, it whispers, pleading.

Tell them. Tell them all, it cries in my dreams.

It’s alive beneath your feet, its heartbeat

Thumping in the smallest leaves of the tallest tree.

The dirt sings and cries and dreams just like me,

Unheard. Unnoticed, but caught up in the stars,

The dust of the galaxy regardless.

**********************************************

Tall trees whipping back and forth, letting the wind

Carry their stories into the ears of the sensitive

Are the same as me, my only family.

Whisper-quiet words are whisked off my lips.

They dance on the ferocious wind swirling,

Quietly vanishing to a new world

Where I will never see the life they lead

Or the souls they touch.

**********************************************

I will be entrapped, feet like immobile roots in the dirt,

In the perfect silence burning away my oxygen.

**********************************************

Remember, I have an Instagram that's pretty cool @silver.serpent.books and a website that is even cooler (www.silverserpentbooks.com). Both focus on poetry, studying literature, and a darker aesthetic. If you like my work here, you'll like it there.

Don't forget you can subscribe here now!

nature poetry
3

About the Creator

Silver Serpent Books

Writer. Interested in all the rocks people have forgotten to turn over. There are whole worlds under there, you know. Dark ones too, even better.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.