Poets logo

The Empty Reflection

His reflection was gone, but was the only thing keeping him alive.

By Le LPublished 6 months ago Updated 6 months ago 1 min read
1

How can I grow back my soul when I don't know this man?

How can I grow what I lost in my soul when I don't know who I am?

who is this man I see staring back at me?

the reflection is a mystery; he's a man with no identity

every day; all I see in myself is less

I’m a mess, god, I've never been this depressed

when I brought sobriety into my home

Clarity showed me disparity had fully grown

I was only number one to my son

He is the reason I've never pulled the trigger on the gun

How can I grow back my soul when I don't know this man?

How can I grow what I lost in my soul when I don't know who I am?

There was a time when this man had a plan

I wielded a sharp knife in my right hand

I just wanted all the negativity to end

why couldn't I see my ability to mend

the man in the mirror snapped me back to reality

That’s when, every day, he started telling me

“you are perfect, you are beautiful, you are unique

You are exactly who you're meant to be.”

My therapist told me to take my time

Then, eventually, I will see the finish line

She said, “You're not running in a mental race

Slow down and do this at your own pace!”

How can I grow back my soul when I don't know this man?

How can I grow what I lost in my soul when I don't know who I am?

Now, when the man in the mirror stares back at me

The reflection is getting clearer by the daily

Could that be me in the reflection I see?

inspirationalsad poetry
1

About the Creator

Le L

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.