Poets logo

The Embodiment of Love

Such a pitiful thing...

By Rufus PattonPublished 4 years ago 1 min read

The embodiment of love, such a pitiful thing,

What eyes visualized has always disappointed me.

I tried to find the sublime first in trivial things, ugh that turned to ash.

The taste of satisfaction never lasted long enough to satiate me, I hunger...

Fast forward to puberty, wow...

Even after that, I cracked under the realization that I wasn't satisfied with the momentary climax. Still I hunger...

Rewind, ok so different chapter but still enslaved to the same diabolical master.

He tells me I am free to chase as much as I please, so I can turn a blind eye to the fact that I have agreed to is slowly killing me.

See, he crept in so insidiously and planted the seeds of lust, rejection abandonment, low self esteem.

As a kid I was good, then learned hood, because agreeing to his lies made me abandon me,

all because I wanted the embodiment of love...

Finally years of depravity, sludging my soul through grime, grotesque acts of giving what was not supposed to be.

Reached the end of myself to arrive at this awakening,

That Love was always there, eternal, whole, complete.

And that Love had purposed a plan, a price to redeem,

A less than whole, mentally, emotionally,

Man that I am and here is the key...

Love knew who I was going to turn out to be.

That in the depths there was the perfect recipe.

To take all the paint from past mistakes and create in me,

A masterpiece of beauty for the whole world to see.

Now I get it, I understand unquestionably.

The embodiment of love must first be realized internally...

inspirational

About the Creator

Rufus Patton

I am an aspiring writer with a rather intriguing point of view. I enjoy the creative outlet to express my thoughts and opinions.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Rufus PattonWritten by Rufus Patton

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.