Motivation logo

A wonderful evening at the Blue Star Cafe

Lounging

By Rufus PattonPublished 4 years ago 3 min read

A wonderful afternoon at the Blue Star Café

So in the last 48 hours I went from stinking and sleeping in my car with my essentials to being able to sit back and enjoy some beautiful sunshine and watch life unfold right before my eyes. It’s amazing how strong conviction can change things around for the better if you just hold on long enough….

I have grown up in “church” since I was knee high to a cricket and knew from a young age that I had a special affinity for belief in Jesus Christ. There has always been a concrete nature to the biblical principles that were instilled in me. The old testament always held a magical element to me in the retelling of the tales of old. I always looked up to Moses for his leadership, Samson for his strength, Samuel for his astuteness, and the list continues. For the majority of my life I noticed how it seemed that I pretty much was able to either do or acquire whatever I wanted to by either the gift of gab or the ability to grasp the concept on how to get it done. There was something else that slowly began to unravel as life did the same. I noticed that as long as I kept God first, I was ok, even when I made mistakes. The moment I made the mistake of thinking I was my own “master”, however, my life would monumentally crumble . I have always been able to recover but the consequences began to mount up.

Roughly at some 30 years of age I made the decision that I was going to rock with God by faith in Jesus no matter what. It was awesome and amazing to think that no matter what I had solidified my belief that Jesus was real (at least to me). The problem became that as I read what He said and did, what I was to have as a believer kept escaping me. So I had to find understanding as to why if I believe the Bible to be the inerrant Truth then, why was I not able to make the truth manifest for me. And when I say it wasn’t working for me I am deadly serious. I would always get close to getting a breakthrough but right before I would cross “the finish line”, I would lose focus, get distracted and epically fail. I knew I knew my “Father” but something was causing me to not get to the freedom the Bible promised me.

It has been during this time that I have acquired new knowledge of universal principles as well as better understanding of information that was second nature to me. It all started when I began to read. He Came To Set The Captives Free, by Rebecca Brown, MD, The 7 Habits of Successful People, by Stephen R Covey, are just two of my readings. I am still not finished with the second one, but within the pages I have now found the practically applicable principles to change my life for the better. What made the discovery even better was the fact that the book completely aligns with my understanding of having a biblical perspective. Since that time, I have been able to slowly, but progressively retrain my thought-process, as well as my perspective and approach to life. It’s still not perfect but I have a brighter perspective on what I want and where I plan to go. I don’t profess to be anything more than a follower of The Way and a friend to the fatherless. I also happen to call Jesus my Brother and God is my Dad. With their help and my ability to learn on my own, I think I like my chances…

self help

About the Creator

Rufus Patton

I am an aspiring writer with a rather intriguing point of view. I enjoy the creative outlet to express my thoughts and opinions.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Rufus PattonWritten by Rufus Patton

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.