Poets logo

The Election of 2020

Between a rock and a hard place. I understand the hard place. What do I have in common with the rock?

By Jennifer RegisPublished 2 years ago 2 min read
Like
The Election of 2020
Photo by Moodywalk on Unsplash

What do I have in common with a rock?

We are the same

We are elements and space bonded together by an unseen force

We differ only in ratios of elements and distribution of space.

What do I have in common with a man like Donald Trump?

We are the same.

Emotional neglect as a child leaves lasting scars.

We are both victims of that.

It leaves a void that longs to be filled.

Empathy and compassion become commodities.

He reserves empathy and compassion for himself and no one else.

I gave empathy and compassion to everyone but myself.

Trauma to turned to narcissism for him, codependency for me.

But we are the same traumatized children that just wanted our fathers to love us

For who are, not what we do.

We have both entered professions that celebrated and encouraged our trauma responses,

Surrounded ourselves with enablers telling us

Our trauma responses are good, valuable and make us worthy of respect and love.

We believed them.

Where we differ is merely a ratio of elements and distribution of space.

My empathy allows me to feel his pain

My compassion allows me to understand his trauma responses

My wisdom allows me to see that he is too far gone and I cannot save him.

Two roads diverged in the woods. I took the road less traveled.

A narcissist will play the victim but never do the deep dive into their own victimhood.

It is a scary thing to face your demons.

It is far easier to pretend they don’t exist or if they do exist,

Believe they are external to you.

The boogeymen.

COVID,

Antifa,

Sleepy Joe,

Crooked Hillary,

The do-nothing Democrats,

Obama,

Her emails.

The Boogeymen.

I will allow my ego to luxuriate in the schadenfreude, because (if we are being honest) it’s fun to see karma at work,

But my higher self - my authentic self - is sad for Donald,

Because I could have very easily become him.

Trauma unhealed.

We are the same.

We differ only by a ratio of elements and distribution of space.

social commentary
Like

About the Creator

Jennifer Regis

Former veterinarian resurrected as a writer/digital artist. My inner child wanted a job I guess. Also, my personality is multiple neurodivergencies in a trench coat, but I'm good at trivia so there's that

IG: @ patronsaintoffractiousanimals

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.