Poets logo

The Educated Single

When you know everything, but how to love

By Shaterrica SampsonPublished 5 years ago 1 min read
Like

I've mastered the art of being alone.

Love is a step into foreign soil, and

Relationships equate to consistent turmoil.

Your very touch hurts,

But your absence is murderous.

Yet, and still, you rush in.

No restraint.

Floods upon floods of affection.

I don't understand.

I'm lethal. My words spit venom.

My very touch issues electrical executions,

But you continue to come closer..closer..closer.

I DON'T WANT YOU!....I need you.

GET AWAY FROM ME!...Come closer.

I HATE YOU!...I.....I love you.

It even burns to come out.

I don't know anything past this selfish way of love.

Me, myself, and I.

With no space for anyone else.

But you continually barge in..No permission, but access granted by force.

No key. You destroyed the lock.

No need to knock. You destroyed the door.

I'll never understand how or why it works this way.

Even my degrees..

These small measures of information aren't enough to counteract what you've done.

Doctorate in being single, turned to a masters of mingle, dumbed down to a bachelors of "What is that tingle?" to an uneducated declaration of "I am in LOVE."

Signed,

An ignorant lover.

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.