Poets logo

The Dye Maker

A Woman's Work

By J.B. MillerPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1
The Dye Maker
Photo by Luis Fernando Beltrán on Unsplash

I am working – every day, all day, it is like baking.

You are making, creating, balancing, deciding.

Each ingredient must be just right

Too little or too much causes a fuss.

Don't make mistakes; it can be nasty.

Head to toe; I am covered. My apron doesn't help that much.

These clothes never come clean.

How I have Scrubbed!

I wish you could see how worn my hands are.

Every day, I mix, I prepare, but this is only one step in many.

So much to do, so little time.

Yet, it is my job, my duty.

We all have our work. This is mine.

Carefully done, repeat, rinse and repeat.

Always rinse.

Even though the bowls are cracked, failing, and fragile, you must rinse.

Contamination happens.

Rain, sun, snow, or sleet, it must be done.

No one else can do it.

The children are too young,

My husband has other work.

This is mine.

Oh, I have many other things to do.

I never rest. Ha! What is that?

Something to do when we are dead!

Don't worry, though; I'm good at my work.

I've been doing it since I was thirteen.

My mother taught me how,

She showed me her tricks.

How to get the texture just right.

Not too thick, not too thin.

Somethings you can't learn from a book.

The mixing; it's one of them.

My family has done this for generations.

Carefully done, repeat, rinse and repeat.

how to
1

About the Creator

J.B. Miller

Wife, Mother, student, writer and so much more. Life is my passion, writing is my addiction. You can find me on Linkedin at https://www.linkedin.com/in/brandy28655/

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.