Poets logo

The Duty

Dying Soldiers

By Dan R FowlerPublished 27 days ago 1 min read

The Duty

Seated around an old chrome and red table,

Sat adults one evening one telling fables.

It was a time for sharing they often said,

As I mulled this over time and again in my head.

I watched them as they lifted cups to sip,

The evening brew, some spat tobacco dip.

I never knew what conjuring awaited,

But listened to each word as I anticipated.

Tales of slaughtering, battles that afar raged,

On battlefields demanding each soldier be engaged.

I listened intently for the message intertwined,

A lesson of war about the human species so unkind.

Leaning forward two at a time they did,

To whisper of things insincere or perhaps glib.

I didn’t understand how this could be,

If they spoke of bleeding dying soldiers you see.

“That’s what I was told,” I heard one say,

“That many gave their lives during those days.

Why the callous tone, the nonchalant manner,

If you respect the upheld blood-stained banners?

As I listened to the faulted words of disrespect,

I had to say my piece saying them without regret.

Because of the countless blood-stained uniforms,

There is some degree of peace, some degree of norm.

In grassy meadows covered graves now conform.

To the mounds of buried soldiers called to perform.

So whether you understand what they had to do,

At least pay them respect and the honor they’re due.

In those trenches and gapping battlefields they fell,

Each giving what they had a simple story to tell.

It’s for those that they loved this tribute they gave,

And closed their eyes not knowing who they saved.

vintage

About the Creator

Dan R Fowler

Dan R. Fowler. 71, writing is more than a hobby, it's a place for me to become anyone I choose to be, visit mystical scenes, or swim deep within my brain. e-book paperback, or audible. type dan r fowler on the search line. Amazon

.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran26 days ago

    This was extremely emotional 🥺 Loved your poem!

  • The duty is very well!

Dan R FowlerWritten by Dan R Fowler

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.