Poets logo

The Cloak and Fire

Releasing Emotions

By Dan R FowlerPublished 27 days ago Updated 27 days ago 1 min read

The Cloak and Fire

Upon charcoal embers, I cast this woven cloak,

Ore many years around my neck it has choked.

It’s a masterpiece of someone other than me,

Who spun threads of deception around my throat tightly.

Upon this smothering fire one that’s tended well,

One poked, pried, and stirred with its own story to tell.

I pull carefully at this tether noose to release,

For fear of hidden emotions revenge I might unleash.

Some say it’s not uncommon this rise and fall,

This need to lash out this rebuttal this heated call.

For the cloak has bound many undying unrelenting,

Remaining until the last moment before one’s soul ascending.

Stir the fire, poke the ashes this I employ,

Send sparks heavenward night’s darkness to destroy

For it is in this hour when this cloak I must release,

To burn it upon hatred’s embers I’m told never cease.

Recompense unto me the years that I’ve lost,

Upon deliverance from this cloak I now willfully toss.

And as I pull the last string that has bound me to taunt,

I’m free from its reciprocity, this appearance that’s gaunt.

Upon this fire that I see before me now ablaze,

With anger’s cloak, I stand willingly and gaze.

Now in this moment, I’m free from that which bound,

From threads that enslaved me my freedom, I’m now found.

surreal poetry

About the Creator

Dan R Fowler

Dan R. Fowler. 71, writing is more than a hobby, it's a place for me to become anyone I choose to be, visit mystical scenes, or swim deep within my brain. e-book paperback, or audible. type dan r fowler on the search line. Amazon

.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

Add your insights

Comments (2)

  • Dr. Jason Benskin27 days ago

    Your exploration of liberation through the act of burning the metaphorical cloak was both poignant and resonant. The symbolism of fire as a means of purification and release was particularly striking. Thank you for sharing such a compelling piece that speaks to the struggle and triumph of reclaiming one’s true self. Best regards, Dr. Jay

  • This was extremely powerful! Loved your poem!

Dan R FowlerWritten by Dan R Fowler

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.