Poets logo

The Dusky Girl

Poem

By Muhammad iqbalPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
The Dusky Girl
Photo by Pooja Chaudhary on Unsplash

THE DUSKY GIRL

She was a girl with beautiful black round eye,

As childish as a puppy and as lively as a butterfly.

Her chin always up and spirit as high as sky,

But one day in a lone corner I saw her cry.

So I went to her,sat there and asked her why?

I looked into her moistened eyes that were filled with worry,

People told her that she won't get a guy good enough to marry.

And even for that her papa has to pour in a huge amount of dowry,

I frowned a little as the things she told me were indeed very scary.

And she asked me if it was her fault not be born as pretty as a fairy.

I patted on her back and asked once again what troubled her,

Sobbingly she said nobody likes her as she is dusky in colour.

It melted my heart but I could do nothing to make her feel better,

All I could add was that you may or may not be a queen for other,

But you can always love yourself and be a princess of your own world.

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.