Poets logo

The Duality of Day Jobs

The absurdity of a creative soul in a capitalist society

By Natasja RosePublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read
6
The Duality of Day Jobs
Photo by Aaron Burden on Unsplash

There once was a young lady author

(“young”… she had to stifle her laughter!)

But she had bills to pay

So a job consumed her day

And writing was pushed back until after.

By Elisa Ventur on Unsplash

Snuck this in right before the deadline…

There is nothing more absurd than the fact that humans, who poured all our stats into community, and were creating art before we created sophisticated tools more complex than big sticks or rocks, are forced to put those creative traits aside to earn a living in corporate jobs, leaving little to no time for the activities we enjoy most.

It’s ludicrous, I tell you!

If you liked this story, leave a heart, a comment or a tip and share it around, and check out my other work on Medium and Amazon.

social commentarysad poetryinspirationalfact or fiction
6

About the Creator

Natasja Rose

I've been writing since I learned how, but those have been lost and will never see daylight (I hope).

I'm an Indie Author, with 30+ books published.

I live in Sydney, Australia

Follow me on Facebook or Medium if you like my work!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Sonia Heidi Unruhabout a year ago

    SO true! Writing is usually the thing I do when I'm supposed to be doing something else. Well done, well done!

  • Leslie Writesabout a year ago

    You are singing my song. I have been thinking about this a lot lately. Spot on and well crafted limerick!

  • Mariann Carrollabout a year ago

    I feel you 😔

  • Kendall Defoe about a year ago

    A very familiar story... Well done...and tell us more! ;)

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.