Poets logo

St Patrick's Day

The absurdity of changing traditions

By Natasja RosePublished about a year ago 1 min read
3
St Patrick's Day
Photo by Patrick Fore on Unsplash

From Britain he came in the past

Who brough on a change that would last

He converted the pagan

But fell short of Canon

So we celebrate by raising a glass!

By Sergio Mena Ferreira on Unsplash

I originally wrote this on the bus to work for St Patrick's Day, and only realised today that I hadn't actually published it. Oops, my bad...

Ironically, the 'Patron Saint of Ireland' was originally English or Welsh, from Roman ancestry. How's that for absurd?

If you liked this story, leave a heart, a comment or a tip and share it around, and check out my other work on Medium and Amazon.

social commentaryvintagefact or fictioncelebrities
3

About the Creator

Natasja Rose

I've been writing since I learned how, but those have been lost and will never see daylight (I hope).

I'm an Indie Author, with 30+ books published.

I live in Sydney, Australia

Follow me on Facebook or Medium if you like my work!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • C. H. Richardabout a year ago

    It is funny how things become. Great Limerick, glad you published it. ☘️

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.