Poets logo

The Dragon.

A poem I wrote about Addiction in 2008.

By Lorna MPublished 4 years ago 2 min read
2
An Image portraying Addiction.

I am the Dragon you do not see,

I am your worst enemy.

I am the silence of the darkest night,

I am hiding, buried out of sight.

I am the pain you think you’ll never feel,

I prefer to stay hidden, but I am real.

I am a beetle, I’ll creep into you,

I am the Dragon of golden brown hues.

I’m the sleepless days and endless nights,

I’m the aches, the pains, the bitterness inside.

I’m the mentality, I will lie to you,

Deceit is my game, can you guess who?

I pollute the blood that flows through your veins,

You’re my prisoner, my corruption will reign.

I feast on the tears that you’ll surely cry,

I’m the suffering and torment you feel inside.

I hold the gun, we play Russian Roulette,

I feast on your dreams, replace self love with neglect.

I’m the isolation, desperation and sorrow,

I will decide if you’ll wake up tomorrow.

I am the pipe dream that you eagerly chose,

I am the reason your ambitions froze.

I provide oblivion, cause your soul to rot,

I’m the devourer, the reason your lost.

I am the silver you desperately hold,

I am the trickster, the one in control.

I am your hideaway, your secret space,

I am the destroyer that you love to chase.

I am the reason that you cannot eat,

I am the reason you struggle to breathe.

I am a killer, one day you’ll be dead,

I’ll laugh as you choke on the words left unsaid.

I am the poison that you ingested,

I captured the child you left unprotected.

I’m the pinpoint pupil, the bags under your eyes,

I’m the paraphernalia you no longer hide.

But you have surprised me, you put me down,

Your eyes are clear, you don’t want me now.

You are the person I most hate,

You are the master of your own fate.

You’ve ended our story and because of you,

I’ll only have power when you want me too.

sad poetry
2

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.