Poets logo

The Divine Comedy of "Home"

The journey to find what home truly means to me in this turbulent life

By ChristianPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

"Home” was more like a hell I roamed

Quiet nights unknown

Our tolerance for him was outgrown

For years I felt alone

Promises broken I became a clone

Addictions became my emotion

My childhood was stolen

And so I began my adolescent self-corrosion

An impending implosion.

Yet one voiced distaste and began a commotion

They knew it was death I truly chased

My flaws and all they embraced

Released from the hell in which i was encased

From a friend now and eternally with a feeling of home I was graced.

But still at war internally

Lying to my mother and sister under perjury

But they showed love not fury

Released from hell I step into purgatory, they are the feeling home in all it’s purity.

Artwork by JOJO

Self-reflections became more exploratory

Looking into my soul from my own observatory

A man lost in his own fallacies my addictions were nugatory

Nothing but a false rationality

Unable to accept my repressed reality

I fell into my own tragedy

Questioning my own morality

But through progression gratefulness for my friends and family

Stood by me through every depression

And every unneeded aggression

If I am like my father that is no longer a question

Forgiven of all my transgressions

I am yet to enter true Paradiso, but these people I love are my home and that’s my true heaven.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Christian

Mexican/American writer, rapper, & poet born with mild cerebral palsy

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.