Poets logo

The Distant Eye

A poem about love at first sight

By J.M. MoonPublished 2 years ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read
8

I cast a look with a distant eye

How have I not known such delight?

What shallow seas have kept me afloat?

What melody has hidden this perfect note?

*

It’s a lick of sense, it’s a coat of paint

It’s these hidden meanings my heart blames

Take it now, from across the room

Across the distance, I wander to you

*

Tell me now what will it take?

To capture your attention, my heart’s at stake

One look from you, it’s in the fire

With bits of courage and burnt desire

*

It’s a fool’s words and a dreamer’s mind

I'll guess your name, if you'll guess mine

To say hello with such childish games

A shield I borrow for this broken knave

*

It’s body heat, it’s a sweet perfume

That lingers on, long after you

You run outside for a moment’s respite

Invite me out with cautious eyes

*

Hands will touch, then embrace

A million miles, for the smile on your face

My feet worn out, as tired proof

I would do anything for you

*

My heart flutters to your electric words

My lips ache for this sweet dessert

A warmth that bates each breathe I take

Too high for heaven or its sake

*

I cast this stone at first sight

You throw yours to my delight

The water ripples through our lives

As we look forward, with love’s eye

love poems
8

About the Creator

J.M. Moon

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.