Poets logo

The Digital Mirage: Lost in the Web of Distraction

Unveiling the Illusion of Connectivity

By Una SavagePublished 12 months ago 1 min read
2
The Digital Mirage: Lost in the Web of Distraction
Photo by Árpád Czapp on Unsplash

Drowned in the depths of a digital stream,

I wander aimlessly, lost in a virtual dream.

Social media's siren call, impossible to resist,

Tweeting and posting, my mind can't desist.

Reality fades as pixels capture my gaze,

As the world outside dims in a hazy haze.

Caught in the clutches of endless scrolling,

Taking me further from the life I should be owning.

Regret whispers softly, but I turn a deaf ear,

Indulging in distraction, escaping from fear.

Only in moments of silence, do I realize the cost,

Nothing is gained, while precious time is lost.

performance poetrysurreal poetryslam poetrysad poetry
2

About the Creator

Una Savage

I'm Una Savage. I love reading and writing, and I enjoy traveling. Most importantly, I'm the mother of an autistic child which is both challenging and rewarding, and it has taught me a great deal about life and myself.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Stephen Kramer Avitabile12 months ago

    Oof, definitely felt this. This is something that I think of every so often, you described it perfectly! Making me feel like I need to get off the computer right now. Excellent job!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.