Poets logo

Content warning

This story may contain sensitive material or discuss topics that some readers may find distressing. Reader discretion is advised. The views and opinions expressed in this story are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of Vocal.

The Difference of 6,000 Miles

Watching Palestine at a Distance

By Ashley TrippPublished 8 months ago 2 min read
The Difference of 6,000 Miles
Photo by Ahmed Abu Hameeda on Unsplash

6,227 miles.

That is the distance between my home state of Kentucky and the Palestinian land in Gaza.

Over 6,000 miles provide me safety. Safety from bombings, massacres, torture, evictions, violations of human rights, and only God knows what else.

Over 6,000 miles provide me secure access to water, food, and electricity. They give me a warm bed. The security of my family.

The expectation that tomorrow will come.

6,000 miles ensure that I am not writing my last will on a social media post. That I am not saying goodbye to the world.

6,000 miles means I am not watching my entire ethnic group be methodically massacred- erased from the earth.

I'm not watching the world turn it's back on me.

I'm not hoping against hope that someone out there will see I existed, that I had a future, that I had things to say. That I was young. That I deserved to live.

6,000 miles means I don't have to beg to be seen or heard or remembered.

That I don't have to see my life burned and charred out-literally.

But 6,000 miles away, the story is different.

6,000 miles to the east, children are dying.

Houses are collapsing. Hospitals are being bombed. People-if they are "lucky" enough to live through the night-are being forced out of their homes, their homeland.

6,000 miles away children are waking up orphans. Parents, childless.

People are prepared to identify kids by scrawled names on their remains-a preparation for the end. A father carries his children’s remains in grocery bags - for what else could be possible do?

6,000 miles to the east, life is entirely different.

It's open season on civilians. Human rights are tossed out the window. Palestinians are compared to animals. Anything to validate their extermination.

6,000 miles East, genocide is occurring.

There is a comfort in 6,000 miles. A false sense of safety. A feeling of helplessness.

The idea that we are not complicit.

What is happening 6,000 miles away makes us sad, but it doesn't shove us in the center and demand action.

Instead, 6,000 miles lets us bury our heads in the sand.

But even 6,000 miles away is not too far to hear the call for help.

The screams of tortured mothers and fathers. The broken wails of children. The moans of agony.

6,000 miles away, there is a call for help rising to anyone who will listen.

Will we answer? And if we don't, how will we justify ourselves in the aftermath?

Here is some more information about helping those victim in Gaza and Palestine:

social commentarysad poetryheartbreak

About the Creator

Ashley Tripp

I’m a freelance writer & artist. I create pieces about the things that move me with the hopes that they move my readers too. My work has been featured in multiple publications. Check out my website for more at https://msha.ke/ashleytripp

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran8 months ago

    Everything that's happening is so heartbreaking and tragic. Beautiful poem. Thank you so much for including how we can help them ❤️

  • Manisha Dhalani8 months ago

    Ashley, this message is so heartfelt. Thank you for writing this and bringing this to light. The plight of the innocents must be heard.

Ashley TrippWritten by Ashley Tripp

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.