Poets logo

I Don’t Think About You Anymore

Father Abandonment

By Ashley TrippPublished 7 months ago 1 min read
2
I Don’t Think About You Anymore
Photo by Liv Bruce on Unsplash

I don’t think about you anymore, dad.

I remind myself not to. I tell myself:

You're not thinking about me

So when it storms & the rain pelts the windows,

I don't go stand on the porch to watch the clouds roll in anymore.

And when my car makes weird noises or I need to hang something on the wall, or I get lost driving or I don’t understand official documents,

I still know who to call.

And when your birthday comes around, I don't feel empty.

I don’t think that I missed your 50th.

And when you ignore my birthday, I don't cry at the end of the night.

I’m a big girl now, and I don’t need you anyway.

You never thought about me, so I don’t think about you.

And when I do something great, I don't think:

"he might finally be proud.”

And when I hear a joke you’d love I don’t think,

“I wish I could tell him.”

And all these moments we used to share, they’re long dead and buried.

And I don’t intend to resurrect them.

And even though our DNA is permanently woven together, that’s the only place we connect anymore.

So yeah, I don't think about you at all

a.j.t

social commentarysad poetryheartbreak
2

About the Creator

Ashley Tripp

I’m a freelance writer & artist. I create pieces about the things that move me with the hopes that they move my readers too. My work has been featured in multiple publications. Check out my website for more at https://msha.ke/ashleytripp

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran7 months ago

    I'm so sorry this happened to you Ashley 🥺 I hope writing this made you feel better. Sending you lots of love and hugs! ❤️

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.