Poets logo

The Difference in Our Step

A short story in verse about two men dancing

By Minte StaraPublished 2 years ago 2 min read
Like
The Difference in Our Step
Photo by Benjamin Wedemeyer on Unsplash

Step, step, step

The dance we have across the floor.

I hold his hand.

He holds mine.

I feel the coldness of his flesh

against my palm.

His hand on my waist

is firm.

I feel my eyes meet his, face hot

and he smiles.

In that playful, almost teasing way

- it makes me want to push away -

but I know he doesn’t mean it.

Not in the way I’m assuming

I hope, at least.

I look away and he draws me closer.

We spin across the floor -

The music is distant.

Some street vendor,

in the night outside our window.

We dance in the dark -

So they can’t see me.

Us.

So they can’t see that he is leading -

That he is in charge of this dance

That I am struggling to remember

how I should step.

That I am a man

dancing as a woman would dance.

I don’t want them to see.

The soft strains of the singing

can still reach us here.

Even though I am trying

to avoid all the attention.

Other than his.

He is the only one

who can see this.

He is the only one -

who I want to see this.

He’s patient.

I feel my heart in my chest

skip a beat at every missed

step

or every missed

t

u

r

n

But he doesn’t seem to notice.

I close my eyes -

for a bit, if nothing else.

And I let him

lead me along.

It’s a trust

that I’m only now

feeling my heart

allow.

My grip … softens

… in his.

And his fingers

more firmly

wrap

around mine.

He pulls me

       along.

And smiling.

  I find myself

He

feels

right.

..

.

The music

     begins

         to fade.

Our steps slow.

My breath quickens.

He pulls me closer.

And rests his head on my shoulder.

I stop.

He stops.

We stand there.

And listen.

surreal poetrylove poems
Like

About the Creator

Minte Stara

Small writer and artist who spends a lot of their time stuck in books, the past, and probably a library.

Currently I'm working on my debut novel What's Normal Here, a historical/fantasy romance.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.