Poets logo

The depths

dark waters,

By Tiffany JoannePublished about a year ago 1 min read
5
The depths
Photo by Imleedh Ali on Unsplash

Dream after dream,

The depths of the dark waters take me,

Taming me,

Like a prideful captain navigating a ship lost deep in a storm,

The depths continue to humble me.

Waters after waters, rivers, oceans, and lakes.

Continuous deep cold takes.

I swim and I swim, or I float, and sometimes, I sink,

Deep into the abyss of the cold dark waters of subconscious emotion

Never so scared as I was in the rushing waters of the dimly lit caves.

Scratching at the walls of the river

Dying to find anything I could to pull myself to the surface

The current was so strong I couldn't see anything but bubbles.

I could feel every freezing bubble against my warm skin,

Every single rock as my nails gashed at the walls,

Finally finding a thick rope-like vine pulling myself to the surface

Gasping for air I see a mossy-covered ground,

Covered in blue orchids dusted with silent sound.

To the right of me, a row of followers

Waiting to dive into the rushing waters of transformation.

In that moment of catching my breath deep in confusion

I recall other dives,

There had never before been others at my side.

I had always dove alone.

Always in the dark of the ocean alone.

Or in the middle of the lake solo.

I look back to the others diving one by one

similarly scratching their way to the surface too.

Not everyone makes it.

Some are to never be seen again.

But I realized, I'm not alone!

We're all trying to find a home.

But, only the strong survive.

Only the ones willing to deep dive

Deep into their subconscious minds

The minds of transformation

Will be able to see the change necessary to push through on the surface.

The surface of waking life.

performance poetry
5

About the Creator

Tiffany Joanne

An all indulging artist just trying to free some thoughts.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Heather Glennabout a year ago

    I'm diving with you! Great writing!

  • Novel Allenabout a year ago

    You write some deep emotional words. They sound like prayers for the world. Beautiful and heartfelt.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.