Poets logo

The demon in the woods

Part 1:

By Lindsey HultmanPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
The demon in the woods
Photo by Thomas Kelley on Unsplash

My mother warned me of the handsome demon that lived in the forest. Women would come from all over just to sing him a chorus.

They would sell to him their soul in return for eternal life and in chains they were bound forever as his wife.

I couldn’t help but lay in bed at night gazing out at the dark forest through my window. Sometimes I dreamt of tip toeing out the door, but my heart was stuck in limbo.

I wondered if the women really loved him or if they only used him for his magic. My heart broke thinking he may never have been truly loved, how tragic!

My mother set out on a voyage; she wouldn’t return for about a week. Which was my perfect opportunity to go and seek. Once I see him, I won’t engage or speak, I swear, it’ll just be a peek!

I threw on my pink dress trying my best to look decent. Just in case his eyes see me, I would like to at least look pleasing.

The forest was scary and there were monsters that lurked and would attack if I didn’t watch my back.

A gremlin came out from under a tree and warned me of the evils within the forest and as a girl I’d better run and flee!

I took his warning into consideration, but I pressed on to the handsome demon for my heart felt an odd obligation.

As I traveled deeper into the forest, I noticed the air became warm and I heard faint laughter begin to swarm.

I must be getting closer. My feet began to move a little slower and I could feel myself start to lose my composure.

The laughter in the air went silent. I stood there and it was so... so... quiet....

Suddenly I felt a violent push from behind, as I was shoved into the mud. I quickly stood up as my eyes began to flood.

"Poor little girl is crying!" I heard a woman yell.

Another woman mocked; "She’s so fragile, did you see how quickly she fell! "

I look around at the mean women staring back at me. I felt a pit of doom in my stomach as they were the most beautiful things I’ve ever seen!

They were all so tall, with long hair and breasts so big that it made me cross my arms over my small chest while they continue to mock me and make their threats.

Suddenly I heard a deep voice behind me, it was so strong the ground under my dirty shoes shook! Fear overtook... I knew it was him, but I didn’t dare to turn around and look.

The women immediately stood to his attention. As they did, I don’t think I need to mention how the air suddenly filled with tension.

All the women were staring at him right behind me, but I still didn’t turn around to see.

“Hmmmm... what brought a little girl like you to these parts of the forest? Surely you wish to flee…or... Have you come searching for me? What is it that you seek?”

I see one of the women give me a glare and I begin to flare. I quickly turned to him... the moment I saw him the words were stuck in my throat and all I could do was stare.

He stood about 9 foot tall and he had beautiful horns, none like I’ve ever seen. His hair and eyes were as black as could be. I wondered how he could even see! But he looked right into me...

His eyes looked to my muddy pink dress as I tried to cover it with my hands... “Tell me little one, what are your demands?”

“Is that how this works? I tell you what I want, and you wave your magic wand and give me the eternal perks?”

“You already know the answer so why ask... little girl is that too much for your brain to task?”

I looked down at my feet and started to feel defeat.

“Let me tell you how this works. You tell me your deepest wishes and desires from inside. I will grant them but only if you become my wife and agree to be bound to me for life”.

My gaze returns to his beautiful eyes. “I won’t ask for anything in return and you don’t need to use your magic to bound me for life for all I want is to be your wife.”

The women began laughing so loud my ears started to ache. He was not amused nor laughing, he looked deeper into me... “Surely there’s been a mistake”

“I want to love you like no other has before. And show you that you don’t need to give another woman anything in order for her to love you anymore. You don’t need magic chains around my neck keeping me here. My love will never disappear, and I promise it will always be near.”

The laughter of the women came to abrupt halt as he held up his hand while still maintaining eye contact with me directly. “You are a child you do not know how to love correctly”.

“If I am a child you are a coward. Admit my wish is making you uncomfortable because it would mean that you would have to be vulnerable!”

He reached his hand out to touch my face so gently; “Dare to speak to me in such a way is a game I will not play. You will be punished. And since, like I said, you are a child, your punishment will be mild”.

fact or fiction

About the Creator

Lindsey Hultman

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Lindsey HultmanWritten by Lindsey Hultman

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.