Poets logo

The Definition of Me

Part 1 (2016)

By Trey StevensPublished 6 years ago 1 min read
1

By definition, I’m a twenty-five-year-old adult.

Too in touch with his inner child.

Deep at heart, I’m a warm caring person.

And that shows too.

So because of that,

I'm rarely listened to or taken seriously.

I'm overly sensitive and fearful of life.

By my own definition.

I’m overly critical of myself.

Sometimes I really feel like I do need help.

But I feel like I have my depression in check.

I wish I could say my past doesn’t haunt.

But by definition, I can say it’s honestly on my mind.

I remember a time when I didn’t have a roof over my head.

Or when I had to worry about food in my belly.

I’ve seen and lived the struggle.

By that definition alone,

My knees will not buckle.

By Definition,

I’m lost, castaway adrift in the sea.

I’m searching for a sign of a connection.

Some other source of love and affection.

Which in this reference a civilization.

I find small islands of friendships, usually their duds with no seeds.

I feel like I have no Wilson.

I feel lost and adrift stuck in this sea.

By Definition,

I do not defend myself,

I’m afraid of confrontation.

I associate that with negative results.

Because in my experience,

That's what you get.

Negative words, negative vibes.

Mental scarring from loved ones.

My heart hurts.

I guess in a sense this is how I feel on life.

Every hand I take with trust.

Eventually comes with a knife.

I do not trust easily.

The best way to say it is.

I’ll give a person enough rope to hang themselves.

The definition of me has been.

Anger,

Pain,

Regret,

Self torture

Lost in a state of sleep.

By definition

I feel lost,

I’m not perfect,

I’m flawed,

I’m human.

By definition,

I am me…

performance poetry
1

About the Creator

Trey Stevens

A writer of Poetry, Short Stories, and scripts.Twitter: @Treysativa

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.