Poets logo

The Defacto and I

a manifestation for her and I

By Belinda WoodPublished about a year ago 1 min read
Like

I think we should start a riot

The girlfriend and I

The defacto and I

Wine-drunk meets love drunk

Blind drunk on my broken loveseat

Share a bottle with me, my love; I want to forget our man on that seat.

Swirl malbec on my red tongue; we need to forget his hands

I played old funk while you danced yourself clean

I played new jazz when you told me to leave him be

Shriek it out, we don't need him!

and without knowing, we both know

Theres a you in I and an I in you

And I mean that

And not because he wants cums inside us both

And not because he tells you I'm home alone

And when you drink black coffee at 5am on your back deck and when the birds sing and your fingers unclench and your shoulders arent so tense, i breathe

that same

breath for less

And youre not a placing on stand

Or a prize to beat

Or an enemy

Honestly, I’d like to call you friend

But I’m not

Sure how

To break

The surface

Of pain

You

And

I

Represent

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Belinda Wood

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.