Poets logo

The Culprit

An Unwelcome Pain

By Lorenzo BlandPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 2 min read
Top Story - March 2022
12
The Culprit
Photo by engin akyurt on Unsplash

It came on so suddenly

Only to be annoying

Like a painful heartbeat in my mouth

To say to my surprise

Would be an orthodox surmise

But I avoided nutrition

No matter how necessary

Like a flower

Who refuses nourishment to grow, arbitrarily

At first the blame was financially sound

Then I chose neglect

Even when I knew I deserved nothing but the best

I was the culprit!

Or was I?

Afterall,

I’m not the one who gave my left ear sensitivity to sound

Pretty nerve racking

When what you eat with becomes exposed

To a pain

That leaves you indisposed

Had to quickly jump on the remedial wagon

For living life under such circumstances

I could not fathom

O, what punishment is this

When your own body turns on you

With a hurt that shouldn’t exist

Mind you

My body is not really to blame

I hold my head down in shame

For I am the culprit!

I chose not to take care of me

How lame?

Or was it?

Afterall, I’m not the who forced me to rebuke the gift of air

Clutching my ear

I didn’t make me drown in despair

I contemplated

As I drank

According to the temperature of the room

Too hot or too cold just wouldn’t do

This was my body

Communicating

Frustrated

I’m telling you

Because I was the culprit!

Who worked shifts of disservice

Against his own interests

But finally

I have listened

Unveiling myself to the dentist

Who introduced me to an orthodontist

I should’ve been acquainted with

Years before

But I was too busy being a slave

To my mental

State of mind

O what a crime

To have not valued what was on the inside

Too busy focused on what had been taken away

Gone astray

Contributed to my loneliness

Even though deep down

I wanted to keep it at bay

Damn!

I really am the culprit!

For who else but mirrored reflection

Could be the result of such confession

Turned off by my own complexion

Confessing

Myself to be unworthy

Living in a world

Where I felt I had more in common

With a hallowed tree

But now

You see

I have seen the value in me

For I am a king

Who is finally acknowledging

That his body has been trying to set him free

I mattered

Before

Now

Forever more

See?

inspirational
12

About the Creator

Lorenzo Bland

Hello. My name is Lorenzo and I own my LLC called Nawey where we advocate for mental health while specializing in creating art forms that use faith, hope, and love to foster better relationships between people and their communities.

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.