Poets logo

The Cry Of Orgasm

by Esiaba Irobi

By Carol FreemanPublished 11 months ago 1 min read
Like

The Cry Of Orgasm

She was a Mauritius woman

who sold spicy grocery at Leeds

open market and spoke demotic English

even on the phone that evening

she told me to come over for a chat. I won't tell you exactly where but

just know it was somewhere in Headingly. The lights were on to show me the window

of her house and her door. On all fours, furs erect, like a Yorkshire cat starved

of pudding for two years, I crept in. The door purred, closed quietly

so as not to wake the neighbours. She said her husband had a timetable

for beating her, so they were now separated. We watched Ruby Wax on the coloured

TV for three minutes then went upstairs, her blue sleeping gown spiralling behind her

like my lust. Up there, in that grey bedroom,

It was sweet, it was swell, it was juicy;

la crme de la crme, her olive thighs

squeezing honey on my ever-green cucumber

and, inch-by-inch, devouring it, enjoying it, relishing it. Dear Reader, I won't tell you a lie, it was sweet, I lay there, on my back, furs erect,

pawing the air, a lucky cat dissolving in ecstasy, crystals of sugar forming in my mouth, my brain, my heart. But just as the tremors were coming, the tremors of our earthquake, memories

of her husband rippled through her mind, and, suddenly, like an olive leaf, she wilted. Instead of a cry of orgasm, she swallowed

and sighed; her eyes scanning the room and

windows with fear. The fear got into me too

as she climbed off like a disheartened jockey

who had failed to win the prize at the races

While I lay there, an empty saddle, with no foot

In the stirrup and no kick at the side to spur me on. Since that day, the condom of our love

Has been broken. And now when I go to the market

I avoid her stall of spices and go to another

Laden with peaches and fresh strawberries

All of which are red

CONTENT WARNING
Like

About the Creator

Carol Freeman

she wasn't waiting for a knight she was waiting for a sword

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.