Poets logo

The Crow and The Butterfly

you're always you.

By Charles WaltonPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1

Last night Death came to me in the form of a crow he told me once I’m done in my cocoon my wish is his command.

I began to eat, a caterpillar on a leaf as I think is this all I’ll ever be

Today a crow came and sat next to me we talked

He said my worries are for naught because there’s no such thing as loss for I’m only a caterpillar on a leaf and I couldn’t imagine what I really am but one day I’d see.

I continued to eat, as I thought what could I be if anything more than just me

Today a crow came and sat next to me we talked, he told me He flew through a storm and the lightning reminded him that there are powers that exist in the universe far beyond machines, but who’s to say this isn’t the machine, or we’re not in a simulation, I’m a crow and you’re a butterfly we both live and we both die, the same will happen to the place where we’re alive.

I finished eating and became weary, the thought that this may be my death made my eyes water up, is this what the crow was talking about I thought.

As I woke up I had to struggle to see the light again and when I finally did I was falling and when I opened my arms I flew!

The crow flew by me and said I’ve been waiting for you, tears running down my eyes, does this mean I’m still alive! I thought I died,

this is the real you the crow told the butterfly.

surreal poetry
1

About the Creator

Charles Walton

I am a poet and a man. Just a few of my poems, if you like them my book is now available on Amazon “Letters to Myself Through Time"

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.