Poets logo

The Crisp Burnt Of My Past

The unbelievable chambers of my heart

By Colleen Millsteed Published 2 years ago 2 min read
11
Image courtesy of Pixabay

I decided to take a wander through the chambers of my heart

Where I would learn more about my past, present and future,

I would be surprised at what I may find, hear, see and taste

Information important and necessary for my heart to nurture.

***

I began my wander through each chamber, viewing the landscape

As I headed towards a distant hill I could feel my feelings blast,

Off into the distance, somewhere behind the hill, continuous pain

The screams of my demons as they were blasted into my past.

***

Over to the right I see a snow capped mountain, towering high

And standing on the summit, a pure snow white cat is howling,

He blends well with his white coat against the snowy mountain

Only his howl giving away his position, as he continued prowling.

***

To the left was a loud explosion, as lightening struck a large tree

Fireworks cascading up into the sky as the tree burst into flames,

Burning flames reaching for the starlit skies, raging at the night

Picture perfect the brutality of its force, the trees heart it claims.

***

There is a smaller fire off in the distances, embers burning low

I wander closer to see a crisp burnt of my past rising from the ashes,

Bottle in hand, slurred cooing as it is reborn, too drunk to stand

It spreads its shadow clumsily, tries hard to take flight and crashes.

***

I look closer at the chambers of my heart and get the shock of my life

Because it is my feeling I can hear behind the distance hill you see,

As I am also the howling cat on the mountain, and the burning tree

Plus it is I, the crisp burnt of my past, rising from the ashes of me.

*************************************************************

If you liked my writing, please click on the small heart underneath, near my name. Or send me a tip and let me know you enjoyed it.

****

Please click the link below my name to read more of my work. I would also like to thank you for taking the time to read this today and for all your support.

If you enjoy this piece, you may enjoy this one too.

Originally posted on Medium

surreal poetry
11

About the Creator

Colleen Millsteed

My first love is poetry — it’s like a desperate need to write, to free up space in my mind, to escape the constant noise in my head. Most of the time the poems write themselves — I’m just the conduit holding the metaphorical pen.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Kaeatta Rankins2 years ago

    Hey, you did great.

  • I enjoy it.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.