Poets logo

The Concert of Life and Death

In My Town

By Mark A. KonopkaPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

WAITING IN THE SUMMER AIR

FOR THE STORY TO BE COMPLETE

MY TOWN WILL BE TRULY WHERE

THE SOUND IS MADE IN ONE BIG GREET.

AS MY EYES GLANCE OFF FAR AWAY

I’M TAKEN BACK A FEW YEARS AGO.

SOON ENOUGH THERE’D BE THE DAY

I’D HAVE TO LET MY SORROW SHOW.

A few months or so Ahead

Of the time my two children died,

There was a song stuck in my head

Consuming every bit of my pride.

I couldn’t help but think about

How these lyrics fed the thought

That of them there would be no doubt

Late condolences that’d be taught.

Time passed along with rapid haste

As I attempted to fool myself

Into believing I never did truly waste

An opportunity that was on the shelf.

I learned more about its mention

Of what reminded me of my loss.

Soon it eased the state of tension

As my purpose and I would cross.

Seizing each and every opportunity

More than a season of work was done

As we all connected in true unity

Long before the setting of the sun.

This time the difference had been made

And fulfilled ahead of the one true time

Their existence would begin to fade

With a sense of reason and rhyme.

My own and theirs weaved together

In the perfect cycle of life and death

My grief soon weighs less than a feather

As it escapes me through my breath.

I RETURN TO RIGHT HERE AND NOW

AS I WAIT FOR THE MUSIC TO START

STILL WONDERING FOREVER HOW

IT SHATTERED AND REBUILT MY HEART

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Mark A. Konopka

Just a nurse who loves to write in my spare time!!!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.