Poets logo

The Complications of Communications

What to say, or not to say...that is the question

By Pam ReederPublished 3 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
1
The Complications of Communications
Photo by Sharon McCutcheon on Unsplash

In attempting to be seen and heard

We're getting tangled up in the words

Trying hard to bring us together

But inventing vocabularies that pull us further apart

It is safer to be silent that to speak.

It's not an attempt to hurt or shirk.

Simply words fail to come readily and confidently

Because each individual can write their own script

My stranger danger is not now about avoiding being hurt by someone I do not know,

Now it is fear of me hurting someone I do not know

Because I did not know how to acceptably speak to someone I do not know.

Is it okay to say "someone?"

It's confusing. I'm not being snarky and snide.

I'm fearful and twisted up inside.

I already have strikes against me.

I'm old. So I learned a less complex way to address others.

Now, I simply don't know what to say.

Ask I'm told, if I don't know.

But when is the time to be so bold?

Some say it's rude to ask.

Others say it's rude not to.

I'm so confused.

My mind is bruised.

So, I'll go first:

I'm she, her, hers, herself

And I'm very pleased to meet you.

social commentary
1

About the Creator

Pam Reeder

Stifled wordsmith re-embracing my creativity. I like to write stories that tap into raw human emotions.

Author of "Bristow Spirits on Route 66", magazine articles, four books under a pen name, technical writing, stories for my grandkids.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.