Poets logo

The Comfort of Security

A poem

By Natasja RosePublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
10
The Comfort of Security
Photo by lilartsy on Unsplash

"Those who sacrifice Freedom for Security deserve neither!"

Stirring words, spoken by a powerful, influential man,

Who never experienced Insecurity, in all its crippling terror.

Who faced no obstables to make him pause before saying "I can!"

*

All humans have certain rights; inalienable, unreserved.

Some, we have only in name, and must demand and enforce them.

Freedom is not Freedom, unless all our Rights are preserved.

Challenges and Changes are inevitable, a mere matter of when.

*

Comfort is the security of a roof, of food and clean clothes to wear,

Without the creeping dread of fearing it will be taken away.

Comfort is having disposable income, money you can spare,

Without having to choose which bill you can afford not to pay.

*

Comfort is the knowledge that you are valued, for yourself,

Without pretending to be another, masking who you are.

Comfort is the security of knowing that you are enough,

Without others constantly shifting an unreachable bar.

By Eyasu Etsub on Unsplash

I recieved some bad news this week, regarding my new job, and it reminded me of how much more comfortable it is to have secure work, knowing exactly how much will be in your bank account the next week, and how much easier everything is with disposable income.

Not everyone has that comfort, the comfort of security, and I'm looking glumly forward to a period of insecurity.

If you'd like to help alleviate that, leave a tip, or share this story around in the hopes of me getting more reads or a bonus, and check out my other work on Medium and Amazon.

fact or fictionsad poetrysocial commentaryinspirational
10

About the Creator

Natasja Rose

I've been writing since I learned how, but those have been lost and will never see daylight (I hope).

I'm an Indie Author, with 30+ books published.

I live in Sydney, Australia

Follow me on Facebook or Medium if you like my work!

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (9)

Sign in to comment
  • Bri Craig2 years ago

    So important in these times!

  • John Eva2 years ago

    Whoa. No, this is good. Like really good - fantastic!

  • Linda Rivenbark2 years ago

    So very pertinent to our moment in history! I hope you find a rewarding job that will meet your needs, both fulfillment and financially. I enjoyed your story and hearted it.

  • Cathy holmes2 years ago

    this is powerful and inspirational. well done.

  • Sissi Smith2 years ago

    I definitely needed to read this today. I would love to help more but I'm admittedly finding myself in similar uncertainties. I will definitely be happy to share and support as I can, though! Hoping many blessings find their way to you soon.

  • Babs Iverson2 years ago

    Wonderful inspirational poem. Do hope the bad news quickly evolves to good news💕

  • Mariann Carroll2 years ago

    Such a powerful poem . I totally agree hearted 🥰🌹🏆

  • Ashley McGee2 years ago

    My family has spent the last three years in poverty. I understand security and not having it, and it hurts all the more knowing how good it was, and how fast it can disappear.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.