Poets logo

The colours of Pride

Gilbert Baker designed the rainbow flag for the 1978 San Francisco Gay Freedom Celebration. Here is a poem I wrote representing the colours of the pride flag we wave.

By Melissa Bezborotko Published 3 years ago 1 min read
25
Pride Flag

The colours of the pride flag dance in my mind.

Going through each colour, you will find.

Pink stands for sexuality;

Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, Questioning/Queer, Asexual is our reality.

Red stands for the life we live;

Our encouragement, awareness, kindness, and acceptance for the love we give.

Orange is healing for the discrimination we take;

Living every day with attracting the people that hate.

Yellow is for people outside the gender binary;

It provides sunshine in the darkness of our reality.

Green represents nature;

To love and be loved by others is natural. Our earth and its resources are a part of our stature.

Blue is our serenity;

The feeling of calmness, peace, and tranquillity.

The spirit of purple represents our day;

Our annual LGBTQ+ awareness to stop bullying, we say!

The colours in our flag reflect the uniqueness and unity when we all come together in our community.

inspirational
25

About the Creator

Melissa Bezborotko

I never know what to write here! I am a mother to two beautiful daughters. As my full-time job, I handle freight and logistics for an office supply company. I enjoy the gym as an outlet for life's stressors, I and I have my own radio show.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.