Poets logo

The Color of Soul

I used to wear pink.

By Susan KulkowitzPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
2

It's how I feel when I move. I was trained in ballet. Focused and calculated. Rigid and strick. Still deep inside me, beyond all the training, is my true essence, my soul, so very soft and loose. It bends and moves with my emotions, my thoughts and actions. Every experience expressed into an interpretive dance I call life. Because deeply within my heart, I know I am the spring. I am the yellow field of flowers where only green stood before. Changing in subtle hues as I follow the sun instinctually toward my introspection. I am also the smell of the cedar forest , full of deep greens and the warm shades of brown, so very ancient and so very wise. And I am the hawk soaring high in the wind, my red wings and tail spread wide open against the sky. My song is a screech, echoing across the canyons magically layered in time. In search of all that is precious to me amongst the vast beauty of living. Praise my vison, crystal clear, deep as the deepest blue waters shimmering with iridescence, catching the light. And though I can never truly know what is around the bend, I keep rolling foward, laughing, sometimes crashing on the shore. And when the light hits me, I am a rainbow. Illuminated. Come after a storm so bright and hopeful. Destined to reflect desert sunsets of peach and lavender. Vastly indigo when the sky turns night. Often coated in white with snowflakes softly falling.... When my soul is quiet and I can sit, contemplating all that I am. It's all I can do to remember, I was trained in ballet.

inspirational
2

About the Creator

Susan Kulkowitz

Writing saves lives. Some of you will understand, as you may have already been saved by writing. Put it on paper. Interpretive Solidification. Make it real, Allow freedom in expression to be control. Weave your words. Save your life.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.