Poets logo

the color of my soul

a deeply faded blue

By Mark LewisPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
2
Photo by Emiliano Arano from Pexels

The color of my life.

The color of my soul,

Isn’t the blue of the skies,

Or the color of the eyes.

It lies in the waves of the unforgiving sea,

Pounding me into its crushing depths.

It hums the loneliness of “Blue”,

Echoing the joyous sound of “Blue Christmas”.

It sails me away to Roy’s “Blue Bayou”,

To sit beneath the “Neon Moon.

Photo by cottonbro from Pexels

The prism explodes into dazzling colors,

Only to reveal my deeply flawed and troubled soul.

It leads me into the paths of doubt and dismay,

Searching for my long-lost tail.

I am surrounded by a color I do not love,

But a color I cannot hate enough.

For the color of my life,

The color of my soul,

Is a well worn and deeply faded

Shade of blue.

Photo by digital buggu from Pexels

sad poetry
2

About the Creator

Mark Lewis

Searching for my voice in this shiny, brand-new vocation called writing. I've been writing for years, but never solely as a writer. I was always writing for school or work, but now, I'm writing as my profession.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.