Poets logo

Jurassic Punk

Poemosaurus Rex Challenge

By Kendall Defoe Published about a month ago Updated about a month ago 1 min read
Oi!

Note: I have been experimenting with the poems I have created for this challenge, and I have a conundrum: one limerick and two haikus (what should I submit?). There is very little chance that I will win this one, so I am going to share all three with you here.

Enjoy and critique...

-K.D.

*

My Limerick:

There once was a punk dinosaur.

He tried to be something more.

From leather and spikes

to something quite nice?

No...a punk's a punk: hear him roar!

*

My Haikus:

1.

Bred to live; so hard.

A short and tough existence...

How punk is that, folks?

2. (Calling this one: 'Memo to Steven')

A movie? Really?

And no dinosaur input...

Punk's not dead...we are.

Is he speaking for us or...?

*

Thank you for reading!

If you liked this, you can add your Insights, Comment, leave a Heart, Tip, Pledge, or Subscribe. I will appreciate any support you have shown for my work.

You can find more poems, stories, and articles by Kendall Defoe on my Vocal profile. I complain, argue, provoke and create...just like everybody else.

Give it a look...

First DraftLimerickhumorheartbreakHaikufact or fiction

About the Creator

Kendall Defoe

Teacher, reader, writer, dreamer... I am a college instructor who cannot stop letting his thoughts end up on the page.

And I did this: Buy Me A Coffee... And I did this:

Blogger

Squawk Back

Quora

Reedsy

Instagram

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (8)

  • Muraliabout a month ago

    I like your limerick poem.

  • Donna Fox (HKB)about a month ago

    Daaaaaamn!!! Loved the limerick the most!!! But this was a fabulous collection of Dino-punk poetry!!! Great work Kendall!!

  • Novel Allenabout a month ago

    The end has been near since I was born back in the dinosaur age. You haven't won or placed in a challenge...I am shocked...not so much. Distribution of said winnings leaves questions. Cool dude dinos BTW.

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarranabout a month ago

    Hahahahahha all three of them made me laugh!

  • John Coxabout a month ago

    All three are fun, Kendall. But taking a poke at Spielberg is funny. Well done!

  • Sid Aaron Hirjiabout a month ago

    Gotta love those Punk dinos

  • Natasha Collazoabout a month ago

    PUNKS NOT DEAD!

  • Paul Stewartabout a month ago

    I like the second haiku...Memo to Steven. The other two are great too---but If I had to choose? Memo to Steve! :) That's my two cents. Fine work, Sir!

Kendall Defoe Written by Kendall Defoe

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.