Poets logo

The Color Of Fear

Purple. It's nothing but a color.

By L.P. MastersPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
5
Image by Kat Jayne from Pexels

I stand here, frozen. A choice lies before me:

Do I let my fear define me, control me?

Or do I take control

Of my own life, conquer my fear,

Make my own choices?

*

For me,

The color of fear is purple.

It is like a squid, with tentacles that extend from my eyes to my heart.

When I see it, I become entangled in it.

Can't breathe, heart racing, the only thoughts in my head:

Get out!

Run away!

*

It took a long time to understand why, exactly, I would fear a color,

The last part of the rainbow?

I always said it was when I got sick,

When the fever gave me all the nightmares.

Millions of iridsecent purple bees swarming me in droves

Heavy purple ropes coiling up on my chest,

Suffocating,

Smothering me.

*

I'm sure the dreams made it worse

But they weren't the cause.

It was the boy.

The boy who loved me before I was ready to be loved.

The boy who loved me without asking if I wanted to be loved

Without asking my permission.

His favorite color was purple.

*

And so for years I was controlled by purple.

Can't go in that plum colored bathroom.

Can't sit by that violet binder.

Can't eat that cake with lavender icing.

*

And now I stand here

At my closet

Two shirts before me,

One is sapphire blue

One is royal purple

I need to pick a shirt to wear.

I have a choice to make. Do I let my fear control me?

Or do I take control?

Purple or blue?

Blue or purple?

*

I've spent months

Coming to terms with my fears,

Facing them

Purple is only a color. It can't harm me,

Can't actually reach down my throat

And stop my heart,

Close my lungs.

*

I can wear whatever damn shirt I choose.

*

My hand shakes

As I pull a shirt from the hangar.

sad poetry
5

About the Creator

L.P. Masters

L.P. Masters loves to write in a wide variety of genres on Vocal. For her published works, she mainly sticks with Sci-fi geared towards Adults, and Paranormal geared toward Young Adults. Her published works can all be found on Amazon.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.