Poets logo

The Cocoon

Part 1 of 2

By John MarkhamPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
The Cocoon
Photo by David Clode on Unsplash

Passing time

It goes excruciatingly slow

My heart a broken metronome

Beating as the shadows creep across my thoughts

I can shut out all noise

Except for the merciless critics in my mind

I hide under the covers

The day’s problems can wait until tomorrow

And nothing new can go wrong if I stay here

Everything hurts

Every muscle, every thought

I don’t want to feel anything

Please leave me

I don’t want company

I don’t want to acknowledge how pathetic I am

In the mirror of your eyes

Nobody understands anyway

They offer useless advice

Mere platitudes to shore up my rotted piers

In an ocean of troubled waters

That convince me again how little they know

Music would help my mood

But like most things in life

It’s all vanity

Nothing new under the sun

Why even try?

Meaningless motions I endure

So others can be happy

So they don’t have to suffer because of me

Illusions of disillusionment

Like an actor

I feign a smile around others

A bandaid on my face

A tourniquet on my soul

That doesn’t stop the bleeding

I’m really expert at faking life

But I can’t fool myself

With sleight of smile

There’s no magic strong enough

I shut down and lock myself inside

I know the truth

Nobody cares

Nobody loves me

I am truly alone

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

John Markham

I’m an amateur at writing. I began writing fiction/fantasy as well as poetry as a teenager.

My current stories are about a wizard from Earth named Draco Moonbeam on a clandestine mission in the White Kingdom on the planet Gaia.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.