Poets logo

The Choice

the agony of a married 25-year-old

By Martyna DearingPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
7
The Choice
Photo by Javier Allegue Barros on Unsplash

People say

You can’t just pack and go.

People say

You can’t drop everything

to follow your dreams.

But as soon as I dip my toe

I want all of this

I want a life that’s so beautiful

it brings me to tears.

So why can’t we?

What’s holding us back?

Mortgage

Rent

Pets

Children

We make ourselves slaves

And suddenly there’s no way out.

Beautiful things

Beautiful home

Beautiful children

Beautiful dogs

We all want that beautiful life

But where’s the beauty to me?

Outside.

Stepping on the tight rope

Balancing

Tripping

Looking for a way out.

I want all of it.

How crazy am I?

I want the house

with a picket fence

I want a porch

filled with pumpkins

that turn into a snowman.

I want dogs

resting on my legs

I might even want a baby

to name after my old friend.

But then I want to live

to explore

to fly

to adventure

to be free

How difficult can it be?

They say

You can’t just pack and go.

They say

You can’t drop everything

to follow your dreams.

But I’m not ready

to close that door...

To give up on

anything

To give up on

me.

inspirational
7

About the Creator

Martyna Dearing

Martyna Dearing joined vocal right after COVID started in April 2020. Since then she got a few Top Stories, republished her book "Green Card Marriage", and is about to release another one titled "Loved, Death, and In Between".

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.