Poets logo

The Chains of Time

The Memories Hold

By Keane Neal-RiquierPublished 5 years ago 1 min read
Like
Picture

There’s a feeling

It is mystical and free

It is a feeling of the blowing wind

Running waters

The humbling sea

A spiritual fluidity

Expression of running far and fast

There isn’t a destination

Forward is the iron clasp

I am running in a black room

Four lights surround

Only one is true

But cannot be found

Though I run to one

I sit dumbfound

Could the others surround

Be the one true sun

I’m running from dogs

In the middle of the woods

A slaver finding his property, his set of goods

I know I need north

But where's my will

The moss barked side

My novel sigil

I look for the star

The night sky is clear

But tree canopies cover

And fear adheres

I sense urgency

I sense freedom

So I turn my back

And run through seasons

The dogs are far

And freedom’s near

But there’s always one more step

For the night to clear

I then find and realize

The dogs are gone

It’s simply memory

Of my pasts chained song

I am free

And freedoms me

Yet my past, I cannot flee

These memories hold

I can’t be sold

I'm still a slave

In memories saved

social commentary
Like

About the Creator

Keane Neal-Riquier

Writing and storytelling have been a passion of mine ever since I was young. I look to dig deep into what it means to be human, and this is what you will find at the very core of my writing.

Website: atyourservicefreelancing.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.