Poets logo

The Cat Rules the Roost

A Poem

By Mother CombsPublished 5 months ago 1 min read
9
Image by Prawny from Pixabay

Come in, sit down

Not there or there

Those are my spots

Yes, you can sit there

I’m glad you could

Come to visit

I’m Klingon, the cat

Mother Combs is gone

Right now to the store

To fetch me some milk

My lazy human let me

Run right out

I told her to get me some

Fresh fish and some chicken

But she never listens

I’ll be lucky to get some

Canned Fancy Feast

For my dinner tonight.

Would you like a snack?

A mouse, perhaps?

Or maybe you’d like

A slice of cheese?

Watch out

Too late, you bumped my

Ball of yarn, and I can’t

Resist playing with all

That stringy goodness.

While we are at it,

Do you mind winding

Up that little toy right there?

I have a hankering to pounce

Something right now.

I know you can’t stay long

So, on your way out the door

If you wouldn’t mind

Too much. Could you

Would you open

The cage door on that

Darn parrot. He mouthed me

For the last time.

I thank you kindly

And I’ll be sure to tell

Mother Combs you

Stopped by.

She’ll be upset she missed you

But she has a lot of work to do today

What with cleaning my litterbox

Grooming my fur

Handfeeding me my kibble

And treating me like the god I am.

Well, bye now. Have a good day.

I have some napping to catch up on

And I’ve decided you are in my chair after all.

surreal poetryperformance poetrynature poetryhumorfact or fiction
9

About the Creator

Mother Combs

Come near, sit a spell, and listen to tales of old as I sit and rock by my fire. I'll serve you some cocoa and cookies as I tell you of the time long gone by when your Greats-greats once lived.

Admin = ViM

PViM

Mike Judey Dharr Grz

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (6)

Sign in to comment
  • Kenny Penn5 months ago

    Perfectly captured the personality of a cat!

  • Hahahahahhahaha that's the difference between cats and dogs. When we take care of them, the dog would think we're God but the cat would think he is God 🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣

  • Hannah Moore5 months ago

    "I have a hankering to pounce" - love that line.

  • Rene Peters5 months ago

    This made me laugh. I love it!

  • Denise E Lindquist5 months ago

    😂😂😂Cute! And having lived with a cat for 15 years, so relatable!😊💕

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.