Poets logo

The Cat and the Canary

Who wins?

By Chloë J.Published 12 months ago 1 min read
6
The Cat and the Canary
Photo by Mark Olsen on Unsplash

The loneliness is close today,

A supple cat, that winds its way

Between my legs, as if to say,

“Lest you forget, I’m here to stay.

How loud the echoes in your home!

How clear it is you are alone!

How near the thoughts of the unknown-

you didn’t think from you I’d roam?”

He’s laughing as his tail wraps ‘round

my ankle; it’s a hacking sound,

But I lie still, as I have found

This hateful cat and I are bound.

The fears are awfully close tonight,

They flicker in the candlelight.

I can’t muster the strength to fight;

I let them take their burning bites.

Just harmless nibbles, at the start,

But slowly, they rip me apart

So thoroughly, I can’t take heart

The taste of them is stale and tart.

What of tomorrow? And today?

What if your loved ones aren’t okay?

What if you never find your way?

All of these things, and more, they say.

Regret has come to hold my hand,

To pull me, so I cannot stand,

To paralyze my heart’s own land,

My full attention, he demands.

The cat brings with him fear and shame,

With scorn, they all call out my name,

In midnight hours, they are untame;

All I can do is let them wane.

For hope is small, but she is there,

A bird birthed from the morning air,

Swelled by her song, she takes my cares,

Outnumbered; still, for me, she dares.

fact or fictionsad poetry
6

About the Creator

Chloë J.

Probably not as funny as I think I am

Insta @chloe_j_writes

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Kendall Defoe 12 months ago

    And I thought I was a dog person... Rather beautiful work here...

  • Real Poetic12 months ago

    This is really something special. Keep it up.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.